en-USde-DE

Mission statement

The Institute of Inland Fisheries in Potsdam-Sacrow (IfB) is a scientific body devoted to applied research on all types of fishing in inland waters. It views its work as a bridge and connecting link between pure research and the world of practice.

Both the development of fish stocks in lakes and rivers, their use by commercial fishermen and anglers and the cultivation of fish in ponds and special facilities are highly important in terms of economics, social issues and water ecology. Fish are a tasty, healthy foodstuff and are in great demand. Adequate supplies of fish should be available with the necessary levels of quality and freshness. But fish stocks have to be managed in the long term and in line with regional, national and European regulations and directives; there is a need to prevent overfishing and damage to populations and inland waters and technologies need to be developed and optimised to ensure environmentally-friendly, controlled reproduction and breeding in aquaculture.

In the light of this, it is the task of the IfB to create the scientific basis for sustainable and successful commercial fishing and angling, including aquaculture, and for decisions on fishing policy that are backed up by specialist expertise; the Institute achieves this by carrying out research work that is closely related to practical issues. The Institute’s work is designed to serve practical fishing applications, consumers, the environment and those who determine fisheries policy through their decisions. In addition, the Institute supports university training in fishing and informs the public about current developments in the fields of fish, fishing and inland waters.

The management and cultivation of fish stocks and the correlation with the aquatic environment as a result affect current discussions on the future – e.g. the effects of climate change, safeguarding food production, making available raw materials, preserving genetic diversity or protecting the environment. The members of staff at the IfB are convinced that research into fishing practices, which is practical and well-substantiated, will be very important in this context in future too. 

Print
  |

en-USde-DE

Leitbild

Das Institut für Binnenfischerei e.V. Potsdam-Sacrow (IfB) ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der anwendungsorientierten fischereilichen Forschung in Binnengewässern. Mit seinen Arbeiten sieht es sich als Brücke und Bindeglied zwischen Grundlagenforschung und Praxis.

Sowohl die Entwicklung der Fischbestände in Seen und Flüssen und ihre Nutzung durch Erwerbs- und Angelfischer als auch die Kultivierung von Fischen in Teichen und speziellen Anlagen sind von hoher wirtschaftlicher, sozialer und gewässerökologischer Bedeutung. Fische sind ein schmackhaftes, gesundes und stark nachgefragtes Lebensmittel. Sie sollen für die Verbraucher in ausreichender Menge, hoher Qualität und Frische zur Verfügung stehen. Dabei sind Fischbestände nachhaltig und im Einklang mit regionalen, nationalen sowie europaweiten Verordnungen und Richtlinien zu bewirtschaften, Übernutzungen und Schädigungen von Populationen und Gewässern zu verhindern und Technologien für eine umweltschonende, kontrollierte Vermehrung und Aufzucht in der Aquakultur zu entwickeln und zu optimieren.

Vor diesem Hintergrund besteht die Aufgabe des IfB darin, durch eine eng an praktischen Fragestellungen orientierte Forschung wissenschaftliche Grundlagen für eine tragfähige und erfolgreiche Erwerbs- und Angelfischerei einschließlich Aquakultur sowie fachlich untermauerte fischereipolitische Entscheidungen zu schaffen. Die Arbeit des Instituts soll der fischereilichen Praxis, den Verbrauchern, der Umwelt sowie den fachpolitischen Entscheidungsträgern dienen. Daneben unterstützt das Institut die fischereiliche Hochschulausbildung und informiert die Öffentlichkeit zu aktuellen Entwicklungen in den Bereichen Fische, Fischerei und Binnengewässer.

Die Bewirtschaftung und Hege von Fischbeständen und daraus erwachsende Wechselwirkungen mit der aquatischen Umwelt berühren aktuelle Diskussionen zur Zukunft wie z.B. die Auswirkungen von Klimaveränderungen, die Sicherung der Nahrungsmittelerzeugung, die Bereitstellung von Rohstoffen, die Wahrung der genetischen Vielfalt oder den Umweltschutz. Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des IfB sind davon überzeugt, dass einer fachlich fundierten, anwendungsorientierten Fischereiforschung in diesem Zusammenhang auch zukünftig wesentliche Bedeutung zukommt.

Print
  |